In this episode of the all-vinyl Stax of Wax presented by Vinyl Me, Please we are taking a close look at the Vinyl Me, Please Classics release for October of 2017 which is Comfort Me by the simply amazing Ms. Carla Thomas. Released in 1965 on the Stax record label, Comfort Me features everything that there is to love about the classic Stax sound. The Memphis Horns are grinding away, the dry kick drum thumping directly in to your chest, the staccato bass lines keep your head bobbing, and the noodle funk guitar sounds gives even the least coordinated of us something to air guitar too. We are going to hear from Comfort Me, artists that Carla Thomas performed duets with, and from artists who are in some way connected to Ms. Thomas and the Stax sound, so get ready to get soulful.

Track Listing

  • Carla Thomas – What the World Needs Now

  • Rufus and Carla – When You Move You Lose

  • Issac Hayes – Man's Temptation

  • Booker T and the MG's – Soul Limbo

  • Carla Thomas – Will You Love Me Tomorrow

  • Rufus Thomas – Walk the Dog.

  • James Brown – I Can't Help It (I Just Do-Do-Do)

  • Otis and Carla – Knock on Wood

  • Carla Thomas – No Time to Lose

  • Leon Bridges – Brown Skinned Girl

  • Brenda Lee – Sweet Nothing's

  • Johnnie Taylor and Carla Thomas – Just Keep on Loving Me

Share This