Today's episode focuses on an album that was released on October 23rd, 1967 as this artists 40th studio album, as well as his second release of 1967. It is was also chosen as the December, 2017 album of the month by Vinyl Me, Please. The record we are talking about is “Sorcerer” by Miles Davis and it is nothing short of masterful. This record features some of the biggest names in jazz playing together in what is known as the second great Miles Davis Quintet which was around from the years 1964 to 1969. The artists performing as the Miles Davis Quintet on this record were Wayne Shorter on Tenor Saxophone, Herbie Hancock on piano, Ron Carter on double bass, Tony Williams on Drums, and of course Miles Davis on trumpet. Enjoy this all-vinyl sonic escape.

Hosted by Black Circle Radio

Track Listing

  • Miles Davis – Prince of Darkness

  • Ron Carter – Epistorphy

  • Herbie Hancock – Ostinato

  • The Mahavishnu Orchestra – The Noonward Race

  • Miles Davis – The Sorcerer

  • Nat Adderly – Signs of the Zodiac

  • Betty Davis – Walkin' Up the Road.

  • Billy Cobham – Spanish Moss

  • Miles Davis - Vonetta

  • Thelonious Monk – Pannonica

  • Charles Mingus – Opus 4

  • Horace Silver – The Kicker

Share This